Pronouns – Lessons 1 through 2

pronouns

http://www.laits.utexas.edu/tex/gr/pro1.html

The different kinds of pronouns are named according to their grammatical function.

subject pronouns –
je, tu, il, elle, on, nous, vous, ils, elles
I, you, he, she, one, we, you, they (m), they (f)

direct object pronouns – 
me, te, le, la, nous, vous, les
me, you, him/it, her/it , us, you, them (m) / (f)

indirect object pronouns – 
me, te, lui, nous, vous, leur
to me, to you, to him/her, to us, to you, to them (m) / (f)

the pronouns y and en
y – there (replaces preposition + location)
en – some, any, not any (replaces ‘de’ + noun)

disjunctive pronouns
moi, toi, lui, elle, soi, nous, vous, eux, elles
me, you, he, she, one, we, you, them (m), them (f)

reflexive pronouns – 
me, te, se, nous, vous, se
myself, yourself, himself, herself, ourselves, yourselves, themselves

interrogative pronouns – 
qui – who
que – what

demonstrative pronouns – 
celui – this one/that one (m)
celle – this one/that one (f)
ceux – these, those

relative pronouns – 
qui, que, lequel, laquelle
who, whom, which, which

indefinite pronouns – 
quelqu’un – someone
quelque chose – something

https://quizlet.com/45825058/duolingo-french-pronouns-flash-cards/

Vocabulary

On – we/someone
Me – me/myself
m’ – me/myself (before vowel)
te – you/yourself (fam.)
t’ – you/yourself (fam. Before a vowel)
se – he/she/it, herself/himself/itself
s’ – he/she/it herself/himself/itself (before a vowel)

Sentences

C’est ce qu’il fait – This is what he does / That is what he is doing
Ça se peut – That can be
C’est l’homme que je connais – This is the man that I know
Elle et moi aimons les fruits – She and I like the fruits
Elle et moi mangeons des pommes – She and I eat some apples
Elle fait des crepes pour vous – She makes crepes for you
Elle me visite – She visits me
Il aime que j’aide l’enfant – He likes that I help the child
Il le sait – He knows it
Il m’aide – He helps me
Il me donne une pomme – He gives me an apple
Il me donne du riz – He gave me rice
Il sont jeunes et ils s’aiment – They are young and they love each other
Il la montre – He shows her
Ils le font – They are doing it
Il le sait – He knows it
Ils le prennent – They are taking it
Ils le vendent – They sell it
Ils m’attendent – They are waiting for me
Ils me suit – They are following me
Ils s’aime – He likes himself
Ils le prennent – They are taking it
Je la connais – I know her
Je la connais? Do I know it?
Je la prends – I am taking it
Je la respecte – I respect her
Je mis dis sa – I tell myself that
Je sais qu’il me regarde – I know that he is watching me
Je souhaite qu’il m’aime – I hope that he likes me
Je t’aime – I love you
Je vois que tu as une chatte – I see that you have a cat
Je crois que c’est vrai – I believe that this is true
Je sais que tu sais que je sais – I know that you know that I know
Je veux que tu (vous) manges (mangiez) du fromage – I want you to eat cheese
Je veux que tu marches – I want you to walk
Je veux qu’elle ferme ce menu – I want her to close that menu
Je vois que tu as une chatte – I see that you have a cat
L’ours mange du poisson -The bear eats fish
La fille achète la robe qu’elle veut – The girl buys the dress that she wants
La fille entend l’ours – The girl hears the bear
Le canard boit, l’ours mange – The duck is drinking, the bear is eating
Ma femme, je l’aime – My wife, I love her
On a des chiens – We have some dogs
On boit – Someone drinks
On coupe le fromage – We cut the cheese
On souhaite des frites – We wish for fries
On trouve – We find
On l’aime – Someone (we) likes it
S’il vous plait, dites-moi – Please tell me
Sa fille? Il l’attend – His girl? He waits for her
Son livre, il l’écrit la nuit – His book, he writes it at night
Un repas se termine avec la café – A meal ends with coffee
Vous et moi marchons – You and I walk

Notes

For such a short vocabulary list, there are a great deal of expressions that these lessons contain.

For more on French pronouns, go here:

http://french.about.com/od/grammar/a/pronouns.htm

This table summarizes the five different kinds of French personal pronouns:

Subject Direct Object Indirect Object Reflexive Stressed
   je    me*    me*    me*    moi
   tu    te*    te*    te*    toi
   Il / elle / on    le / la    lui    se    lui / elle / soi
   nous    nous    nous    nous    nous
   vous    vous    vous    vous    vous
   ils / elles    les    leur    se    eux / elles
*In the imperative, me and te sometimes change to moi and toi
Leave a Reply

