Verb Infinitives

In English, modal verbs are non-conjugated verbs: can, could, may, might, must, ought to, shall, should, will, would. English speakers use them a great deal, but this type of word structure does not exist in French. Instead, you can express ideas using modals verb in French, that are conjugated.

Vouloir (to want), pouvoir (to be able to) and devoir (must/shall) are called modal verbs. When used with infinitives, they act as auxiliary verbs or semi-auxiliaries. All three verbs are often found in the conditional in order to be more polite in requests and commands. The verb savoir is often also used as a modal, which you’ll read about in the links below, but I don’t believe that verb is used in this module. Some will argue to avoir and être are also modal verbs.

http://about-france.com/french/modal-verbs.htm

http://french.about.com/od/grammar/a/french-modal-verbs.htm

http://www.frenchspanishonline.com/magazine/modal-verbs-in-french/

A- Simple Tenses

1- Can, Could, May, Might:

We group these 4 verbs in French because they are related to one verb in French: Pouvoir

Can (to be able to):

Je peux, Tu peux, Il/Elle peut, Nous pouvons, Vous pouvez, Ils/Elles peuvent

May is also pouvoir: May I?= Puis-je?

She may be watching television: Elle est peut-être en train de regarder la télévision

To make this clearer in French, we add the word “maybe” = “peut-être”

You can use the subjunctive mood: Il se peut qu’elle regarde la télé

May can express the future: he may arrive late = Il arrivera peut-être en retard, il va peut-être arriver en retard or with the subjunctive mood: il se peut qu’il arrive en retard.

Might= Peut-être or Could so the conditional form of Pouvoir:

He might be right: il a peut-être raison

I could come if…: je pourrais venir si…

2 – Must, Should:

Must: Devoir, Falloir

Devoir: je dois, tu dois, il doit, nous devons, vous devez, ils doivent

Falloir: il faut (just one form)

You must go = tu dois y aller or il faut que tu y ailles

He must be wrong: il doit se tromper

Should: the conditional form of the verb Devoir

Je devrais, tu devrais, il devrait, nous devrions, vous devriez, ils devraient

I should go: je devrais y aller

B – Compound Tenses:

1-  Can, Could, May, Might

You need to know the past participle of pouvoir: pu

The modal verbs act like auxiliary verbs in English, not in French. In French, we need the auxiliary “avoir”.

He could have come but: il aurait pu venir (as you can see, could becomes the past participle and have the auxiliary verb)

She can’t have seen you: Elle n’a pas pu te voir

I may have forgotten it: J’ai pu l’oublier or je l’ai peut-être oublié

You might have told me: tu aurais pu me dire

2- Should:

You need to know the past participle of devoir: dû

He should have come: Il aurait dû venir

You should have been a doctor: tu aurais dû être docteur

3- Exercises:

A – It may rain later
B – I may not have time to do it
C – I might not go
D – It might rain this afternoon
E – He should go to a doctor
F – He should have got there by now
G – He must have left
H – He might have left
I – He could have left
J – He should have left

Answers:

A – Il pleuvra peut-être plus tard, il va peut-être pleuvoir plus tard, il se peut qu’il pleuve plus tard
B – Je n’aurai (future) peut-être pas le le temps de le faire , je ne vais peut-être pas avoir le temps, il se peut que je n’aie pas le temps de la faire
C – Je pourrais (conditional) peut-être ne pas y aller, il se pourrait que je n’y aille pas
D – il se pourrait qu’il pleuve cet après-midi, il pourrait peut-être pleuvoir…
E – il devrait aller chez le docteur
F – Il devrait y être maintenant
G – il a du partir, however because the verb partir needs the auxiliary verb “to be” you can also say: il doit être parti, il faut qu’il soit parti
H – il aurait peut-être pu partir; peut-être qu’il aurait pu partir
I –  Il aurait pu partir
J – Il aurait dû partir or because of to be: Il devrait être parti

Note – I believe that completing the Verb Infinitives module also completed Verbs Modal 1 & 2.

https://quizlet.com/40211918/duolingo-french-verbs-infinitive-flash-cards/

Sentences

Avoir du beurre – To have some butter
Avoir un bébé – Have a baby
Avoir un chat est facile – To own a cat is easy
Avoir une robe – To have a dress
Bon à savoir? Good to know
Bouillir l’eau – Boil water
Ce livre est facile à lire – That book is easy to read
Ces personnes vont vivre avec nous – These people are going to live with us
C’est beau d’aimer! It’s beautiful to love!
Comment dire? How shall I put it?
Comment dois-je dire? How shall I say it?
Comment être mauvais – He knows how to be bad
Comment faire? How do you do?
Comment je peux parler ça? How can I carry that?
Comment savoir? How do you know?
Demander quoi? Ask for what?
Difficile à dire – Difficult to tell
Elle aime porter sa chemise – She likes to wear her shirt
Elle peut aimer jouer au football – She can enjoy playing soccer
Elle peut l’emmener – She can take it with her
Elle peut vous emmaner – She can take you with her
Elle regards sans chercher à comprendre – She watches without trying to understand
Elle souhaite être jolie – She hopes to be happy
Elle veut montrer ses roses – She wants to show off her roses
Elle veut montrer son sac – She wants to show off her bag
Elle vous apprend à lire – She is teaching you to read
Elles savent lire – They know how to read
Elles sortent dîner – They are going out to dinner
Est-ce que tu peux me donner du pain?- Can you give me bread?
Est-ce que tu veux prendre un café – Would you like to go get a cup of coffee
Est-ce que voulez venir avec moi? Do you want to come with me?
Être un enfant est facile – To be a child is easy
Il aime goûter la nourriture – He likes to taste the food
Il aime marcher seul – I like to walk alone
Il continue d’être méchant/mauvais garçon – He keeps on being a bad boy
Il doit avoir un parapluie – He has to have an umbrella
Il doit être parfait – He wants to be perfect
Il est temps de dormir – It is time to sleep
Il faut appeler un chat un chat – It is necessary to call a spade a spade
Il faut choisir – We have to choose
Il faut faire boiller le thé – It is necessary to boil the tea
Il faut vider les verres – It is necessary to empty the glasses
Il me laisse penser – He lets me think
Il parle sans savior et sans comprendre – He speaks without knowing and without understanding
Il peut le faire – He can do it
Il peut parler français et espagnol – He can speak french and english
Il peut venir – He can come
Il sait comment faire un bon gâteau – He knows how to make a good cake
Il sait être mauvais – He knows how to be bad
Il va aimer mon repas – He is going to love my meal
Il va demander à son père – He is going to ask his father
Il va le faire – He is going to do it
Il va nous donner une pomme – He is going to give us an apple
Il va venir dans un instant – He is going to come in a moment
Il veut choisir son portefeuille – He wants to chose his wallet
Il veut être seul – I want to be alone
Ils peuvent apprendre – They can learn
Ils veulent nous inviter – They want to invite us
Ils vont avoir des pommes – They are going to have apples
Ils vont venir avec nous – They are going to come with us
J’aime apprendre leur fonctionnement – I like to learn their operations
J’aime avoir un livre lorsque je suis seul – I like to have a book when I am alone
J’aime dire que je t’aime – I like to say that I love you
J’aime griller du poulet – I like to grill chicken
J’aime griller la viande – I like to grill meat
J’aime jouer avec elles – I like to play with them
J’aime lire tes livres – I like to read your books
J’aime me cacher – I like to hide myself
J’aime penser à ma mère – I like to think of my mother
J’aime pouvoir manger les légumes – I like to be able to eat vegetables
J’aime regarder jouer les éléphants – I like to watch elephants play
J’aime vendre des sandwiches – I like to sell sandwiches
J’aime vendre des vêtements – I like to sell clothes
J’aime vous écrire – I like writing to you
Je dois aller dormir – I must go to sleep
Je dois appeler ma fille – I have to call my daughter
Je dois déjeuner avec lui – I have to eat lunch with him
Je dois écrire une letter – I have to write a letter
Je dois penser à mes enfants – I have to think about my children
Je dois vider les verres – I have to empty the glasses
Je dois vous dire – I must tell you
Je lis pour apprendre – I read to learn
Je peux aimer – I can love
Je peux aller avec lui? I can go with him?
Je peux avoir un citron, s’il vous plaît? Can I have a lemon please?
Je peux prendre ta montre? Can I take your watch?
Je vais acheter une voiture – I am going to buy a car
Je vais dîner chez mes parents? I go to dine at my parents
Je vais être un grand homme! I am going to be a tall man!
Je vais l’acheter – I am going to buy it
Je vais leur demander – I am going to ask them
Je vais lire un livre – I am going to read a book
Je vais prendre mon temps – I am going to take my time
Je vais vous apporter le canard – I am going to bring you the duck
Je vais vous apporter quelque chose – I am going to bring you something
Je vais vous donner du lait – I am going to give you milk
Je vais vous voir ce soir – I am going to see you tonight/this evening
Je vais y aller – I am going to go there
Je veux acheter la rober – I want to buy the dress
Je veux aller boire de l’eau – I want to go to drink water
Je veux appeler mon fils – I want to call my son
Je veux cacher un animal – I want to hide an animal
Je veux comprendre – I want to understand
Je veux dormir – I want to sleep
Je veux être comme ma femme – I want to be like my wife/woman
Je veux être près de ma femme – I want to be near my wife/woman
Je veux faire quelque chose pour lui – I want to make something for him
Je veux pouvoir manger – I want to be able to eat
Je veux pouvoir parler – I want to be able to speak
Je veux un truc pour écrire – I want something to write with
Je veux voir un oiseau – I want to see a bird
Je viens pour sauver ton chat – I come to save your cat
Je viens pour te sauver – I come to save you
La boutique va vendre les chapeaux – The boutique is going to sell the hats
Le gâteau est facile à couper – The cake is easy to cut
Le petit-fils aime apprendre – The grandson like to learn
Les chats aiment jouer au soleil – The cats like to play in the sun
Les femmes aiment parler – The women like to talk
Les filles peuvent avoir un gâteau – The girls can hae a cookie
Les hommes peuvent être riches – Men can be rich
Les jours sont de plus en plus longs – The days are longer and longer.
Ma niece essaie de dormir – My niece is trying to sleep
Ma soeur aime parler – My sister likes to talk
Mais il faut prendre le temps de chercher – But it is necessary to take the time to look
Marchez pendant votre heure de déjeuner – Walk during your lunch hour
M’entendez-vous marcher la nuit? Can you hear me walk at night?
Merci pour m’apporter une salade – Thanks for bringing me a salad
Meric beaucoup de m’inviter! Many thanks for inviting me!
Mes fils, vous devez porter des chaussures – My son, you have to wear shoes
Mes parents veulent marcher – My parents want to walk
Mon frére doit écrire une letter – My brother must write that letter
Nous aimons jouer au football – We like to play football
Nous allons leur dire? We are going to tell them?
Nous allons nous voir demain – We see each other tomorrow
Nous allons pensar à vous – We are going to think about you
Nous allons penser à vous – We are going to think about you
Nous allons vous écrire – We like writing to you
Nous devons choisir – We must choose
Nous mangeons pour vivre, et vivons pour mangeons – We eat to live, we live to eat
Nous nons voyons demain – We see each other tomorrow
Nous pouvons avoir des enfants – We can have children
Nous voulons avoir un enfant – We want to have a child
On se voit demain – We see each other tomorrow
Où  voulez-vous aller manger ce soir? Where do you want to go to eat this evening?
Où allez-vous dormir? Where are you going to sleep?
Peut-il avoir le calendrier? Can he have the calendar?
Peut-il voir à travers? Can he see through it?
Peut-il voir le candrier? Can he have a calendar?
Pouvez-vous lui dire? Can you tell her?
Puis-je prendre votre montre? Can I take your watch?
Que voulez-vous savoir? What would you like to know?
Qu’est-ce que vous voulez faire? What do you want to do?
Qu’est-ce qu’on va faire? What shall we do?
Qui appeler? Who to call?
Qui devons-nous appeler? Who do we need to call?
Tu dois déjeuner avec ta grand-mere – You have to eat lunch with your grandma
Tu es le seul à pouvoir faire ça – You are the only one able to do that
Tu peux lire ce livre – You can read that book
Tu peux y aller – You can go there
Tu vas me regarder – You are going to look at me / You will watch me
Tu vas regarder l’enfant – You are going to watch the child
Un chat peut voir dans le noir – A cat can see in the dark
Un petit enfant vient les sauver – A small child is coming to save them
Veux-tu la prendre? Do you want to take it?
Voulez-vous déjeuner avec moi? Would you have lunch with me?
Voulez-vous en avoir? You want to have some?
Voulez-vous la prendre? Do you want to take it?
Voulez-vous leur dire? Do you want to tell them?
Voulez-vous venir avec moi? Will you come with me?
Voulez-vous venir dîner avec moi ce soir? Do you want to have dinner with me tonight?
Voulez-vous venir manger avec moi? Do you want to come eat with me?
Vous allez regarder – You will look / You are going to look
Vous devez être grands – You have to be tall/big
Vous devez être un parent – You have to be a relative
Vous pouvez aller où vous voulez – You can go where you want
Vous pouvez avoir des canards – You can own ducks
Vous pouvez emmaner qui vous voulez  – You can take whoever you want with you
Vous pouvez inviter qui vous voulez – You can invite whoever you want
Vous pouvez lire ce livre – You can read that book
Vous pouvez lui parler – You can talk to him
Vous savez être bon – You know to be good
Vous voulez cacher un livre – You want to hide a book
Vous voulez parler avec vos parents – You want to talk to your parents
Vous voulez vendre vos bijoux – You want to sell your jewelry

Leave a Reply

