French Verb Conjugation Guide (Front) and Cheat Sheet (Back)

I liked the Spanish Verb Tense guide on the spanish411.net site (below) so much that I thought it would be great if I could find one like it for French:

http://www.spanish411.net/resources/Spanish-Verb-Tenses.pdf

I looked everywhere for one that would serve to guide me on the most common French verb conjugations, and could be printed on one sheet. Since I could not find one,  I decided to create one, in Excel. Below is a picture of that effort. If clicked, it should give you a readable version that can be printed in landscape on one page. I realize that there are a few more tenses, but these are the tenses that seem to be agreed upon by most conjugation websites as the essentials.

Some conjugation websites focus on 8 tenses:

http://www.verbix.com/webverbix/go.php?D1=3&T1=%C3%AAtre&H1=103

Other websites give you a little bit more:

http://leconjugueur.lefigaro.fr/french/verb/aller.html

This is the Excel version:

tense-cheat-sheets

I also created a back page that included French grammar concepts and common words.

Cheat Sheet Side 1

I’m not confident of the English translation for “Past Conditional – Second Past” but I’ll probably never use this tense. If anything is incorrect, please let me know in a comment and I’ll get it corrected and reposted. The average first year French student, I’m told, needs to know those tenses written in yellow.

7 thoughts on “French Verb Conjugation Guide (Front) and Cheat Sheet (Back)

  1. Val erian February 26, 2015 / 11:38 am

    Hi, I’m wondering of you have that kind of cheat sheet for spanish either French-Spanish or English-spanish?

  2. Sarah Fabre January 2, 2016 / 3:01 am

    I’m preparing a “concours” to become an English teacher in France, and I’ve been looking (unsuccessfully, until now) for a concise description of the French tenses with the English translation. What you have created is really useful for me, thank you very much!

    • Toussaint January 2, 2016 / 7:13 am

      If you find anything wrong on my verb guide, please leave a comment on the blog. Good luck with your teaching.

  3. Shona Mynes March 24, 2016 / 2:15 pm

    the cheat sheet for french isnt loading would you be able to post another link?

    • Toussaint March 26, 2016 / 7:04 pm

      Ok. It should be visible again.

Leave a Reply

