Concept Test #80 – Relative Pronouns

http://www.laits.utexas.edu/tex/gr/pror3.html

Fill in the blank with the correct relative pronoun: dont, où, lequel, ce dont or ce à quoi.

  1. Tammy : Lyon est la ville _______ Tex a grandi.
  2. Joe-Bob : Je n’ai pas lu le livre _______ tu parles.
  3. Tex : Le roman dans ________ Marie-Tammy apparaît s’appelle Guerre et amour.
  4. Fiona : Le garçon ______ Bette est amoureuse est …Tex!
  5. Bette : _________ je parle n’a rien à voir avec Tex.
  6. Tammy : Tex, tu sais ___________ je pense?
  7. Tammy : Voici l’endroit _____ je veux me marier, Tex!
  8. Tammy : Tex, tu es le tatou avec _______ je veux me marier!
  9. Paw-Paw est un ancien combattant, ______ Tex est très fier.
  10. Trey : Les chansons ________ je suis l’auteur sont au TOP20.
  11. Tex : Tu me demandes __________ je réfléchis? A mon prochain poème bien sûr!
  12. Tammy : Le béret ______ j’ai fait cadeau à Tex est superbe.

The rules:

  • Use dont if the subordinate clause needs an object introduced by de/d’.
  • The relative pronouns lequel, laquelle, lesquels, and lesquelles (which) are used when the relative clause is introduced by a preposition other than de/d’.
  • Dont often indicates possession; ‘whose’ is its English equivalent
  • The relative pronoun où means ‘where, in which, on which.‘
  • Use où if the subordinate clause needs an object indicating location introduced by dans, à, sur, sous.
  • When où is used after adverbs of time, où means ‘when.’
  • Use ce dont if the subordinate clause needs an object introduced by de.
  • Use ce + preposition + quoi when the subordinate clause needs an object introduced by a preposition other than de.
Leave a Reply

