Dialogues – Speaking Skills

On this blog, I do focus a little too often on listening, translating and reading skills. I have very few posts on speaking skills or pronunciation. Let me try to remedy this with the help of Vincent, from imagiers.net.

In this video, Vincent puts us through a little over two hours of conversations.

Here is Dialogue #1:

Bonjour, comment t’appelles-tu? Hello, what is your name?
Je m’appelle Simon. My name is Simon.
Tu as quel âge Simon? How old are you Simon?
J’ai 8 ans I am 8 years old
Tu habites où? Where do you live?
J’habite à Bordeaux I live in Bordeaux
Est-ce que tu as des frères et soeurs? Do you have brothers and sisters?
Oui, j’ai une soeur Yes, I have a sister
Et ta soeur s’appelle comment? And what is the name of your sister?
Elle s’appelle Élodie Her name is Élodie
Élodie a quel âge? How old is Élodie?
Elle a 14 ans She is 14 years old
Ah, donc c’est une adolescente! Oh, so she is a teenager!
Qu’est-ce que tu aimes? What do you like?
J’aime Noël. I like Christmas
Tu aimes l’hiver? Do you like winter?
Oui et j’adore la neige! Yes, and I love the snow!
Il y a beaucoup de neige à Bordeaux? Is there a lot of snow in Bordeaux?
Non, ça me rend triste! No, it makes me sad!
Et qu’est-ce que tu n’aimes pas? And what don’t you like?
Je n’aime pas l’été! I don’t like the summer!
Bon, merci Simon. Je vais te laisser maintenant! Well, thank you Simon. I will leave you now!
Merci et à bientôt! Thanks and see you soon!
Merci à toi et à bientôt! Thanks to you and see you soon!

Here is Dialogue #2:

Bonjour, aujourd’hui nous allons compter! Hello, today we will count!
Emilie va nous aider, n’est-ce pas Emilie? Emilie will help you, will you Emilie?
Tu n’as pas l’air d’être contente! You don’t seem to be pleased!
C’est difficile! It is difficult!
Non, tu vas voir, c’est facile! No, you will see, it is easy!
D’accord! All right!
Je vais dire les chiffres et tu vas les épeler I am going to say the digit and you are going to spell them.
Ouh, j’ai peur! Oh, I am scared!
Allez, on commence avec zéro! So, let’s start with zero!
Très bien, tu vois que c’est facile! Very well, you see that is easy!
Bravo, tu connais bien les lettres! Bravo, you know well the letters!
Pourquoi tu as peur, tout va bien! Why are you scared, everything is going fine!
Oui, c’est vrai! Yes, it’s true!
Grâce à toi, nous avons appris à épeler les chiffres! Thanks to you, we have learned how to spell the digits!

Personally, I’m feeling more comfortable while listening to Marie at the Migros Podcast website, and now enjoy imitating the nuances of her speech.

http://podclub.ch/fr/emissions/l-avis-de-marie-f

I went through a period where I almost gave up learning French, after some 500 hours of study, because of my difficulties in speaking French in conversations.

I had to remind myself that my frustration was rooted in my desire to speak French at a level similar to my English, which is of course impossible after only 500 hours. Although I am literate in French, and have well over 5,ooo words, my speech is that of a four year old, since I have only been learning French for 315 days.

It would be nice, if we could learn languages like Darryl Hannah in “Splash”. Do you remember the scene where she sits in front of a TV set for an afternoon while the Tom Hanks character is at work, and completely masters TV English (the American version of English, since she was watching game shows vice PBS). It would have been interesting if she had been watching PBS in NYC, and when he returned, she was stuck in an endless loop, saying things like, “oh, right”, “splendid”, “well then”, “mustn’t do that”, “I see…”, “brilliant”, “stunning”, and using “bloody” as the default adjective.

Leave a Reply

