Demain, dès l’aube… by Victor Hugo

Victor Hugo Les contemplations demain, dès l’aube…
Demain, dès l’aube,
à l’heure où blanchit la compagne,Je partirai. Vois-tu,
je sais que tu m’attends.

J’irai par la forêt,
j’irai par la montagne.

Je ne puis demeurer loin de toi
plus longtemps.

Je marcherai les yeux fixés
sur mes pensées,

Sans rien voir au dehors,
sans entendre aucun bruit,

Seul, inconnu, le dos courbé,
les mains croisées,

Triste, et le jour pour moi
sera comme la nuit.

Je ne regarderai
ni l’or du soir qui tombe,

Ni les voiles au loin
descendant vers Harfleur,

Et quand j’arriverai,
je mettrai sur ta tombe

Un bouquet de houx vert
et de bruyère en fleur.

Translated:

Victor Hugo, The contemplations, Tomorrow, at dawn…

Tomorrow, at dawn,
at the time when the countryside whitens,

I will leave. You see,
I know that you are waiting for me.

I will go through the forest,
I will go through the mountain,

I cannot remain far from you
any longer.

I will walk my eyes fixed
on my thoughts,

Without seeing anything outside,
without hearing any sound,

Alone, unknown, my back bent,
my hands crossed,

Sad, and the day for me
will be like the night.

I will look
neither at the gold of the evening falling,

Neither at the sails in the distance
going down to Harfleur,

And when I arrive,
I will put on your grave

A bouquet of green holly
and heather in bloom.

Leave a Reply

