Confession

Bien que j’écris en français depuis mon ordinateur en utilisant un clavier virtuel, je swap sur le clavier anglais pour en tirer de nombreux symboles. Je ne sais pas comment capitaliser les lettres accentuées. Lorsque j’ai besoin de taper une lettre accentuée, je copie et colle à partir d’internet, ou j’utilise ce site:

http://french.typeit.org/

J’ai remarqué que d’autres personnes qui écrivent des essais en français, qui sont d’autres pays, eux aussi tapent minuscule ç quand ils commencent une phrase. Par exemple, ça va ?

Suis-je fou ? Suis-je paresseux ? Que se passe-t-il ?

Avec un pavé numérique, il est possible de taper des lettres majuscules avec diacritique.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alt_code

Par exemple :
– Alt+144 = É
– Alt+0183 = À
– Alt+0199 = Ç

Avec un peu de pratique ça devient naturel.

Note: Here are the other ALT codes (you press the “alt” key, enter the numbers and then when you release the “alt” key, the symbol magically appears)

alt codes

Note: For others having this problem, one of my readers advised that I install the English International virtual keyboard using my Control Panel. I then followed the instructions on this site:

http://www.starr.net/is/type/intlchart.html

and I learned how to type the characters I was missing. Using the Right ALT key plus other keys, I can now type Ç and other capitalized accent marked letters. Thanks David.

This English International keyboard also allows us to use a shortcut key for accent acute letters.

To type accent grave letters (à è ì ò ù) you use the accent grave key (`) followed by the letter. The accent grave key is in the top left of the keyboard. So:

Accent grave key and a = à

Accent grave key and e = è

Accent grave key and i = ì

Accent grave key and o = ò

Accent grave key and u = ù

To type accent acute letters (á é í ó ú) you use the apostrophe key (‘) followed by the letter. The apostrophe key is two keys over from the letter ‘L’ key. So:

Apostrophe key and a = á

Apostrophe key and e = é

Apostrophe key and i = í

Apostrophe key and o = ó

Apostrophe key and u = ú

The apostrophe key, if you wish to use it for an actual apostrophe, requires you to hit the space bar after the apostrophe key so that it types an apostrophe instead of an accent acute letter.

2 thoughts on “Confession

  1. David Burnett April 17, 2016 / 9:39 am

    It is much easier just to install the international keyboard and type instantaneously without having to remember codes for all the special letters. çäöóüøáäåéíúÇÚæáäåß

Leave a Reply

