Daily Routine (Bedroom)

I was recently asked how I go about practicing my languages, and to be honest, I only practice French every day. The other four I work on at random intervals. The question was a very good one, because I do have a routine, but before I decided to write about it, I searched for others who had revealed their learning rituals, and saw this post:

Sample Language Learning Routine

The language learner above is working on Japanese, and many of the tools he is using are specific to that language, but many of them are familiar to us (i.e. Anki, Tatoeba.org). Since my routine is different I decided to take the time to lay out a typical study session. My goal is to work within a theme (bedroom, bathroom, kitchen, yard, car, telephone conversation, etc), first identifying objects I can see, to test my vocabulary, and then follow with sentences. Today I’ll focus on a bedroom.

If you are just starting out, you may prefer sites like this:

http://www.languageguide.org/french/vocabulary/bedroom/

For me, the vocabulary is limited so I added more vocabulary:

la malle the trunk
le coffre chest
le matelas the mattress
le tiroir the drawer
la chambre à coucher bedroom
la couverture blanket
le plafond ceiling
le lit bed
le cintre hanger
la lampe lamp
la table de nuit nighstand
l’oreiller pillow
les draps sheets
le mur wall
la chaise chair
la fenêtre window
la porte door
l’horloge clock
le tapis rug
le bureau desk
l’ordinateur computer
la télévision television
la commode dresser
le meuble dresser
le réveil alarm clock
le placard closet
la penderie closet
l’armoire wardrobe dresser

and then I will describe the room using phrases like these:

Je me réveille et allume mon ordinateur portable. I wake up and turn on my laptop.
Je rentre dans la chambre. I enter the room.
Je vois un lit dans au milieu de la chambre. I see a bed in the middle of the room.
Le lit, le dessus de lit, le couvre-lit, des draps, une couverture, et deux oreillers. The bed, bed top, bedspread, sheets, blanket and two pillows.
Il y a une peinture sur le mur. There is a painting on the wall.
La chambre dispose d’un bureau et d’une chaise, d’un ordinateur, et d’un placard. The room has a desk and a chair, a computer, and a closet.
Il y a un lampadaire et un ventilateur de plafond. There is a floor lamp and a ceiling fan.
Il y a une salle de bains à côté de la chambre. There is an bathroom next to the bedroom.
Il y a une porte vitrée qui ouvre sur la cour. There is a glass door that opens onto the courtyard.
Il y a une petite chaise près du bureau. There is a small chair near the desk.
Je mets ma chemise sur le lit. I put my shirt on the bed.
Je mets une paire de pantalons à côté du bureau. I put a pair of pants next to the dresser.
Je mets une pantalon à côté du bureau. I put pants next to the dresser.
Il y a un tiroir de rangement avec des vêtements sous le lit. There is a storage drawer with clothes under the bed
La chambre sent le frais et le propre. The room smells fresh and clean.
Le plancher est en bois. The floor is wood.
Le plafond est très haut. The ceiling is very high.

Since I want to get my pronunciation right, I create a Quizlet deck for these vocabulary words and sentences, and use my laptop or my Kindle, to bring the words to life, using their software:

https://quizlet.com/133077578/bedroom-morning-practice-french-flash-cards/

In the evening, I sit down with this same deck and test myself using the “Learn” function on the website. Quizlet asks me to type out the French for the English entry from the deck. Very challenging, and it is here that I force myself to create mnemonics for the misspellings, gender errors, and other grammatical miscues that I make. As an example, I forgot the circumflex on the second e in the word for window, so I make a mnemonic for this and will not miss it again. If I want to make this deck more difficult, I choose “Speller”, and what’s fascinating about this function is that the speaker spells the words using the French alphabet sounds. If you are having difficulty spelling words in French, a few sessions with this tool will do wonders.

Leave a Reply

