Today’s Song – Je suis venu te dire que je m’en vais – Cœur de Pirate

Note: This is a Serge Gainsbourg song, covered by singer, Béatrice Martin, who calls herself “Cœur de Pirate”. If you like her songs, maybe you’d like to listen to her on Internet Radio.

Je suis venu te dire que je m’en vais
Et tes larmes n’y pourront rien changer
Comme dit si bien Verlaine au vent mauvais
Je suis venu te dire que je m’en vais
Tu t’souviens de jours heureux et tu pleures
Tu suffoques, tu blêmis à présent qu’a sonné l’heure

Des adieux à jamais
Oui je suis au regret
D’te dire que je m’en vais
Car tu m’en as trop fait
Je suis venu te dire que je m’en vais
Tes sanglots longs n’y pourront rien changer
Comme dit si bien Verlaine au vent mauvais
Je suis venu te dire que je m’en vais
Tu t’souviens des jours heureux et tu pleures
Tu sanglotes, tu gémis à présent qu’a sonné l’heure

Des adieux à jamais
Ouais je suis au regret
D’te dire que je m’en vais
Car tu m’en as trop fait
Je suis venu te dire que je m’en vais
Et tes larmes n’y pourront rien changer
Comme dit si bien Verlaine au vent mauvais
Je suis venu te dire que je m’en vais
Tu regardes les jour anciens et tu pleures
Tu suffoques, tu blêmis à présent qu’a sonné l’heure

Des adieux à jamais
Ouais je suis au regret
D’te dire que je m’en vais
Car tu m’en as trop fait

In English:

I came to tell you that I’m leaving
And your tears are not able to change anything
As said so aptly Verlaine ill wind
I came to tell you that I’m leaving
You remember me on good days and you cry
You suffocate, you turn pale now that the hour has sounded

Farewell forever
Yeah I’m sorry
To tell you that I’m leaving
For thou hast me too much
I came to tell you that I’m leaving
Your long sobs there will not change anything
As said so aptly Verlaine ill wind
I came to tell you that I’m leaving
You remember me on good days and you cry
You sobbing, you moan now that the hour has sounded

Farewell forever
Yeah I’m sorry
To tell you that I’m leaving
For thou hast me too much
I came to tell you that I’m leaving
And your tears are not able to change anything
As said so aptly Verlaine ill wind
I came to tell you that I’m leaving
You watch the old days and you cry
You suffocate, you turn pale now that the hour has sounded

Farewell forever
Yeah I’m sorry
To tell you that I’m leaving
For thou hast me too much

Leave a Reply

