Favorite Candy – Listening Skills

Note: I don’t know many of the names for French candy, so this came in handy:

http://www.easy-french-food.com/french-candy.html

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_candies#France

Quels bonbons vous rappellent votre enfance ? Which candy reminds you of your childhood?
Des caramels, caramels mous, c’est nous. Caramels, toffees, it’s us.
Moi, c’était les guimauves. C’est un bon souvenir parce que mes grand-parents m’en achetaient pas mal et on est allé aux marchés avec eux en Provence pour avoir ce petit guimauve, voilà. For me it was marshmallows. This is a good memory because my grandparents bought for me not bad, and I went with them to markets in Provence for this little marshmallow, there you go.
Moi, c’est les p… euh, caramels mous, parce qu’ils ramènent à un centime à l’époque… de franc. For me it is the p … uh, fudge, because they cost a penny at the time … some franc.
Les dragibus parce que j’en mangeais énormément, et euh mes… mes parents m’ont donné de l’argent de poche et j’en mangeais tous les jours. The dragibus because I ate a lot, and my uh … my parents gave me pocket money and I ate every day.
Les carambars, je vais dire, voilà, ça c’est mon… mon bonbon… euh fétiche, un petit peu. The carambars, I’ll say, that’s, that’s my … my … um candy fetish, a little bit.
Des berlingots. Some berlingots.
Et pourquoi ? And why ?
Parce qu’ils avaient une forme bizarre et de plusieurs couleurs. Voilà, c’est tout. Because they had an odd shape and many colors. That’s it that’s all.
Vous savez, je viens du… d’Afrique du nord donc c’est plutôt la patisserie orientale. Voilà. You know, I come from … North Africa so it is preferred the Asian pastry. There you go.
Leave a Reply

