Essay – Application d’engrais

J’ai discuté de la façon de mélanger les engrais, conformément à la méthode Mittleider. Aujourd’hui, je vais parler de l’application de l’engrais. Dans mon cas, chacun de mes lits surélevés est à deux pieds linéaires. Mittleider suggère qu’un jardinier applique une demi-once de mélange hebdomadaire d’engrais par semaine par pied linéaire. Un lit surélevé avec des dimensions Mittleider sera un pied cube pour chaque pied linéaire.

I discussed how to mix fertilizer, in accordance with the Mittleider method. Today, I am going to talk about applying the fertilizer. In my case, each of my raised beds on wheels is two linear feet. Mittleider suggests that a gardener apply a half ounce of weekly fertilizer mix per week per linear foot. A raised bed with Mittleider dimensions will be a cubic foot for every linear foot.

Une once liquide est un peu plus de 28 grammes, mais je mesure un volume d’once d’engrais, soit environ 42 grammes par once de mélange hebdomadaire et 50 grammes par once de prémélange. J’utilise une cuillère à soupe pour transférer le mélange dans un entonnoir dans le tube d’arrosage de mon lit. Je rince l’engrais dans le tube avec un bec d’eau.

A fluid ounce is just over 28 grams, but I am measuring a volume of an ounce of fertilizer, which is around 42 grams per ounce of weekly mix and 50 grams per ounce of premix blend. I use a soup spoon to transfer the mix to a funnel in my bed’s watering tube. I flush the fertilizer into the tube with a watering spout.

Si je souhaite mélanger rapidement un lot d’engrais hebdomadaire, j’ai appris qu’en raison des différences de poids, je remplirai 9 1/2 tasses de NPK, 1 1/2 tasse de sel Epsom, 1/3 tasse de Mittleider Mix et 2 / 3 tasses de Perlite. Si vous souhaitez voir les chiffres, passez à mon article précédent.

If I wish to quickly mix a batch of weekly fertilizer, I learned that due to weight differences, I will fill 9 1/2 cups of NPK, 1 1/2 cups of Epsom Salt, 1/3 cup of Mittleider Mix and 2/3 cup of Perlite. If you wish to see the numbers, go to my previous post.

Mittleider Premix
Weight Ratio Component Volume Ratio
80 Garden Lime 15.8
4 Epsom Salt 0.9
1 Borax 0.3
Mittleider Weekly Mix
40 16-16-16 NPK 9.4
6 Epsom Salt 1.4
1 Mittleider Mix 0.3
0.5 Perlite 0.7

Note: I’ve printed a copy of the matrix above, laminated it, and placed it in my mix bag. I use garden lime (vs. gypsum) because I water my plants. Mittleider has a guideline that if you get more than 20 inches of rain annually, use garden lime, but if you receive less, use gypsum (because of the sulfur).  If you water your plants instead of relying on rainfall only, then garden lime is the way to boost your pH into the critical nutrient absorption zone. Lime dissolves slowly, so it is often added to the soil early in the planting cycle.

The main reason I keep an on-line notebook, is to demonstrate to others that you do not magically become proficient at a language or a hobby. You work at it everyday, and make small gains. You ask yourself what you need to learn, what your weaknesses are, and then you go out and find the answer. I’m slowly conditioning myself, through these essays, on how to structure a sentence in French. For example, in this essay I wanted to say “An ounce is just over 28 grams”. I cannot word-for-word perform that translation. I went with “Une once est d’un peu plus de 28 grammes.” The more I translate, the more I learn to avoid English words like “used to”, and “have to”, concentrate on proper use and placement of qui/que, and get into the habit of using transition words where I can.

Leave a Reply

